

Family Leave Insurance provides New Jersey workers with cash benefits to bond with a newborn, newly adopted, or newly placed foster child. You may apply for Family Leave benefits any time during the first year after the child was born, adopted, or placed in your care. New parents can collect Family Leave Insurance benefits for a maximum of 12 consecutive weeks in a 12-month period, or up to eight weeks (56 individual days) in a 12-month period, if taking leave in a non-continuous manner. New mothers who receive Temporary Disability Insurance benefits for their pregnancy will get special instructions on how to file for Family Leave benefits.

### Who qualifies for benefits?

Most NJ employees are eligible. In order to have a valid claim for New Jersey Family Leave Insurance, you need to have paid into the program through your employment and meet minimum gross earnings requirements. In 2021, you must have worked 20 weeks earning at least \$220 weekly, or have earned a total of \$11,000 in the base year.

#### Do new parents need to take their benefits all at once?

No, Family Leave benefits may be taken in one continuous period, or on a day-by-day basis. However, the manner in which you choose to claim your leave will determine the duration of leave to which you are entitled (see above). If you take your leave in a non-continuous manner, let us know those dates after taking each segment. The initial application includes a partial leave schedule that you must fill out, sign and date, showing the days you did not work during that period. If your application is approved and you have remaining benefits to be claimed, we will mail you a Continued Claim Certification (Form FL3), to claim additional periods of leave. You will need to submit an updated schedule after each period of leave is completed.

## How much money can I expect?

If eligible, you'll receive 85% of your average weekly salary

up to a maximum of \$903 per week, provided you're not being paid by your employer. You'll get a debit card in the mail when your application review begins. Funds will be put on the card once you're approved.

## Should I keep my employer informed?

You must give your employer 30 days' notice if taking your Family Leave bonding in one continuous period, and 15 days' notice if taking your leave in a non-continuous manner.

## Is my job protected?

Your job might be protected under a separate law, the New Jersey Family Leave Act (NJFLA). Generally, New Jersey employers with at least 30 employees worldwide are covered by the NJFLA and must provide 12 weeks of job-protected family leave to qualifying employees. For more information about NJFLA, visit www.njcivilrights. gov. You may be eligible for Family Leave insurance wage replacement benefits regardless of whether you are covered under NJFLA. In addition, if an employer retaliates against you for taking (or seeking to take) your Family Leave Insurance benefits, you have the right to take private legal action.

# How do I apply?

The quickest and easiest way to file a claim is online at **myleavebenefits.nj.gov**. Paper applications (Form FL-1) are also available on our website. You have 30 days from when your leave starts to file your Family Leave application.

Phil Murphy Governor

Robert Asaro-Angelo Commissioner

